Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

Double Standards

with 3 comments

Behati Prinsloo

Behati Prinsloo

Here’s a photo of the lovely Behati Prinsloo from the Karl Lagerfeld S/S RTW show.  The show took place on October 4, 2006.  Behati’s birthday is May 16, 1989.  That would make Behati seventeen-years-old in the photo.  That’s why I used MS Paint to erase her nipples.  The photo is inappropriate.

For the past couple of days I’ve been trying to ignore the onslaught of criticism directed at Vanity Fair and Miley Cyrus.  I don’t really understand why everyone is so worried about an arty shot of the teenager in a sheet.  I’ve seen worse, including the photo I posted above.

Behati Prinsloo is a gorgeous girl.  In interviews, she seems to be wise beyond her years.  She once told Fashion Television “I feel like modeling is not for very young girls cause it takes away your childhood.”  No kidding.

Where were this child’s parents when she was walking down the runway in a see-through top.  Where were her agents?  Where was Karl Lagerfeld?  Everyone who made a buck off of Behati’s nipples when she did this show should be ashamed of themselves.  I’m not going to blame her because she’s a kid — an especially wise kid, but a kid, nonetheless.

When I first saw this photo, I emailed style.com to let them know that it was irresponsible to leave the photo up if they knew the model was under eighteen.  They didn’t get back to me, so I emailed a few talk shows.  Nobody responded — not even Tyra or Bill O’Reilly.

I figured that this photo should spark a controversy.  It didn’t.  So why is a model so much different than an actress?  Why is Miley Cyrus in a sheet so much more offensive than a different teenager in a transparent top?  Janet Jackson’s nipple slip cost CBS a bundle, but Karl Lagerfeld and style.com get off free because Behati Prinsloo is a model?  I guess models get what they deserve.  They aren’t actresses, after all.

I’m sure this girl is going to have a great life because of modeling.  It’s likely that she’ll have opportunities that most of us couldn’t even dream of having.  Still, I wonder what she’s going to think in twenty or thirty years when she looks back at this photo and sees herself bare-breasted on a stage with the entire world’s gaze fixed upon her.  I can’t imagine that she’s going to be happy with the people who brought her there.  And she shouldn’t be.

Written by Post Author

April 30, 2008 at 4:04 pm

Posted in Things I Loathe

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. When I look at the VF photos, I don’t really see much of a problem with Miley’s images by herself though I certainly wish that she or anyone her that she be allowed to be a kid a while longer.

    To me, it is far more disturbing to see her all tarted up laying across her dad’s groin. There she looks a lot more like his trophy and/or sexual conquest – very Jerry Lee Lewis.

    Chris W.

    April 30, 2008 at 9:51 pm

  2. I whole heartedly agree with you…actually I posted a “rant” on my blog about all the hubbub about Miley Cyrus. I have seen worse on younger at the beach! People need to stop looking for stuff to make her out to be a bad kid and just let her grow up and keep doin her thing.
    L.G.

    lwayswright

    May 1, 2008 at 4:14 pm

  3. tarted up? That makes me hungry……..I think I’ll head to KFC

    Suzanne

    September 6, 2008 at 5:51 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

