Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

Superheroes?

with 2 comments

Anna Wintour

Anna Wintour

I have to admit that I took one look at my invitation to the superhero-themed Metropolitan Museum of Art Costume Institute Gala, then I crumpled it up and threw it into the trash.  Sure, it would have been nice to attend such a star-studded event, but I couldn’t go.  I’m no superhero.  I used to be, but I’m not anymore.

However, I did send my several of my operatives, including the heroic Tom Ford/Drofmot and his trusty sidekick Richard Buckley (who probably wore a mask and some tights).  They were there to keep an eye on the Evil AntiZob, who attended with his partner in malevolence, Sophia Coppola.  I’ll be expecting a briefing shortly.  Who knows what sort of evil my allies may have witnessed?

Speaking of evil, Anna Wintour looked anything but evil in her gorgeous Chanel Haute Couture gown.  In fact, it may have been the most appropriate dress on the red carpet for a superhero-themed event.  Her character can be called Platinum, and her powers can include selling ad pages and elegantly deflecting criticism.

Kudos also go to Amber Valletta, Naomi Watts, Christina Ricci and Lynda Carter for getting into the spirit of the event.

Now, back to the criticism.  I do understand how the Costume Gala works.  The event is sponsored.  The tables are sponsored.  The clothes are sponsored.  Everything is basically a big exercise in PR to draw attention to the Met, underwritten by the generosity of select donors.  Meanwhile, many of the celebrities who attend lend credence to the event by donating their presence; their star power is their currency.  Still, I wonder who actually donates money to the Met.

That gives me an idea.  Wouldn’t it be great if someone like Tom Cruise (who attended last night’s event) donated a dollar amount equivalent to the free outfit he got from Giorgio Armani?  Wouldn’t it be great if he did the same thing at every event he attended every time he got a free outfit?  Even if he had to return the clothes afterward, it wouldn’t even put a dent in his bank account.

Maybe he does donate a ton of money each time he attends a party like this — I have no idea where his money goes.  I’m a little leery of celebrities in free clothes, though.  As I’ve already mentioned, I understand the concept of endorsement.  I just don’t trust people to take the high road when it’s right in front of them.  It takes a real superhero to go the extra mile.

Written by Post Author

May 6, 2008 at 3:48 pm

Posted in The Wred Carpet

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Absolutely adore the idea for donations equal to those items ‘on loan’ (not) the celebs are enjoying. And this is coming from the Queen of endorsements-understanding. Great blog. Love it.

    thePreppyPrincess

    May 12, 2008 at 2:07 am

  2. Yeah, I often see celebrities talking about how generous they are when the outfit they wear gets donated to a charity afterward. Well, if you got it for free, and you’re already a zillionaire, how is that generous?

    I like my idea.

    auntiefashion

    May 12, 2008 at 2:25 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 266 other followers

