Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

Celine Dion’s Backwards Suit

with 7 comments

Celine Dion

In between cosmetic procedures (her new addiction), Lucinda McRuvy took the time to compose a list of the worst-dressed Canadians in show biz.  She even added a special category, The Worst Dressed Canadian Hall of Fame, just to dishonor Celine Dion.

Now I’ve never been Dion’s biggest fan, but I’m going to take some time and a few paragraphs to defend her.  The reason: Celine Dion is a champion of antifashion.

Whatever passes for fashion nowadays on the red carpet is not what I would call fashion.  I’ve blogged about the stylist-hijacked, designer-sponsored trend that has made the red carpet such a creative wasteland, so I don’t need to do that again.  Just trudge through my archives — if you’re so inclined.

But if you want to know why I worship Celine Dion as an antifashion icon, just read this 2007 story about her from contactmusic.com:

 

Celine Dion has refused to ever set foot on a red carpet again because she hates answering superficial questions about the clothes she is wearing. The superstar singer was savaged by the fashion police for wearing a backwards white Dior suit to the 1999 Oscars and has never truly recovered from the criticism. And now she tells style magazine W she insists on bypassing red carpets at events – so she doesn’t have to talk about fashion. She says, “I just want to do music and perform for people who want to see me performing.

“I don’t want people to say to me, ‘Are those diamonds yours? Did you borrow them?’ I can pay for my own diamonds, and I don’t need to wear the necklace of the year.

“I don’t need that s**t, so I don’t want to walk on the red carpet. If nobody wants to dress me because they want publicity, well, I’m sorry.”

But Dion has won praise from some fashion designers – because she’s one of the few stars who insists on buying whatever she wears. Gilles Mendel, who has become one of the singer’s favourite designers, admits he can’t remember ever lending her an outfit. He says, “It’s really rare… She is really classy. It creates an independence, so she doesn’t owe anything to anyone.”

 

Aside from that, the suit really isn’t that horrible.  Only a scrawny bird like Celine (or a model) could get away with wearing a fabric draped across the breasts like that, and it really does fit her well through the torso, too.  Her pants need to be shortened slightly so that they don’t break like a man’s trouser at the ground (or else her heel needs to be an inch higher).  Her body type favors a plunging neckline — not the neckline of this jacket — because she has such great shoulders.  She also has a long neck, so she doesn’t need to accentuate the vertical line from her shoulders upward by donning a fedora (although I’ll admit that I’d kill to have the hat).

Technically, that’s what’s wrong with the outfit.  Artistically, however, the outfit is a masterpiece.  Just imagine how much more fun the world would be if people went out in public in clothes like this.

Forget what the so-called fashionista say.  Fingers need to be pointed at the millionaires who demand free clothes.  Fingers need to be pointed at the stylists who have made “good taste” a commodity, as if it actually has some sort of value in the grand scheme of things.  Fingers also need to be pointed at people who write worst-dressed lists.

I don’t want to come off as a sanctimonious windbag, so I’ll admit that I used to get paid to write those lists, too.  Yet I don’t know if there’s anything else in my past as a fashion journalist that embarrasses me more.  I was a rotten person back in those days.  Thankfully, I had people like Celine Dion in my life to show me the error of my ways.

Now if I only felt the same way about her music!

Written by Post Author

July 19, 2008 at 3:49 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lucinda is the chief officer of the Fashion Police, that’s why she has to write these tickets.

    Max, on the other hand, adores this outfit, wishes she had thought of the idea. If Max wore it, she would wear the pants and the hat backwards too.

    Glad to read that Dion buys her own clothes. Too bad she is discouraged about the red carpet, she is great to watch.

    Danielle

    July 19, 2008 at 5:29 pm

  2. What the hell is she posing in front of? A giant superball replica? Yes, those pants are too long. Other than that, not horrible.

    But, who am I to judge, I work at a bank.

    rustyspigot

    July 21, 2008 at 12:05 am

  3. The most fashionable bank in the world, I’m sure!

    auntiefashion

    July 21, 2008 at 3:10 am

  4. I prefer people on worst dressed lists myself. They make life more interesting than the overstyled clones.

    Lucinda, on the other hand, well, Danielle said it all. Lucinda IS the Chief Officer of the Fashion Police.

    Carolyn

    July 21, 2008 at 6:26 pm

  5. celine has a voice to out do any clothing…..

    georgina brentnall

    December 24, 2008 at 2:26 am

  6. Please, the red carpet has nothing on her voice. She buys her clothes as well, that shows independence!! You rock Celine! You dont need a good fashion taste to be famous :)
    ~Maryann~

    locks92

    June 27, 2009 at 10:34 am

  7. I don’t think the outfit is bad at all. Although I think it could have done without the hat.

    Anonymous

    January 12, 2011 at 2:43 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 269 other followers

