Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

Toronto Fashion Week, Again

with 2 comments

Joe Fresh

L’Oréal Fashionweek aka Toronto Fashion Week is almost here!  This time last year it was a rather bitchy affair, with a nasty scandal involving an anonymous email criticizing Robin Kay’s iron-fisted organization of the event.  I added my voice to the bitching last spring when I criticized the social-event atmosphere; I’d rather see people going to shows because they wanted to buy the clothes.  Nevertheless, that’s never going to happen at any fashion week, so I should just shut my trap.

I will say that I’m looking forward to a few shows.  I’m interested in seeing what all those crazy Project Runway Canada kids have been up to.  I always look forward to Pink Tartan, as well.  It’s a cute, commercial line with major potential.

I don’t know if I’m that excited about Joe Fresh, though.  It’s sort of exciting to see which Canadian supermodel Joseph Mimran has convinced to walk on his catwalk, but otherwise I’m not that impressed by the line.  I suppose it’s a victim of guilt by association.  I can’t even walk into the Real Canadian Superstore.  It’s a dump, right on par with Wal-Mart.  I shop at a Sobey’s near my house that is like the Holt Renfrew of grocery stores.  The only thing that I might wear out of that store is lip balm.  Your Auntie Fashion doesn’t shop for clothes in the same place she shops for food, and that isn’t going to change any time soon.

That reminds me — I need to buy a sketchbook.  I’m planning on following Danielle Meder around and drawing her while she draws everyone else.  I should probably buy some dark sunglasses, a trenchcoat and a new fedora, too.  I don’t want to look too obvious.

Written by Post Author

October 18, 2008 at 3:04 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Please post your sketches!

    Danielle

    October 19, 2008 at 7:31 pm

  2. […] Want to come to fashion week?  There is still one day left to enter and win tickets for Tuesday from Rags and Mags, or win tickets for Thursday from Final Fashion.  If you are coming to fashion week, keep an eye out for me – you won’t be the only one. […]


Leave a comment