Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

Wear a Gown to Work Day 2009

with 3 comments

christian-dior-couture

Christian Dior Couture

Yesterday I posted a very bitchy comment.  I wrote “‘Special occasion dressing’ makes me apoplectic.  Spending thousands of dollars to convince yourself that you’re going to remember a moment forever is one of the stupidest things any woman could ever do.  Don’t even get me started on wedding gowns!”

Later in the afternoon I was strolling through Sears on my way to the hardware department when I noticed that the prom dresses are already in the stores.  My first thought was “Look at those stupid prom dresses.”  After taking a few minutes to think about it, however, I began to reconsider my stance on the issue of special occasion dressing.

Who am I to tell anyone that they shouldn’t dress up for special occasions?  That really goes against everything I stand for.  My life isn’t going to be any better or worse if some bride spends five grand on a dress that makes her look like a parade float.  In fact, my life would probably be better if there were more special occasions that made me want to dress up.  Don’t we all want more glamour in our lives?  I’d love to have the sort of lifestyle that would allow me to wear Christian Dior Couture while running errands or watching TV.

For that reason, I’ve decided to name the last Friday in May “Wear a Gown to Work Day.”  This year that day is Friday, May 29.  I chose that particular day because it should allow most women in the northern hemisphere the opportunity to go strapless if the mood strikes them.  I don’t believe that the day coincides with any other major holidays, and because it’s a Friday, you’ll be able to wear your gown out on the town after the whistle blows.  Like the fashion magazines say, you can go from day to evening in one easy step!

I hope that this humble little project of mine catches on.  It would be wonderful if every Friday became “Wear a Gown to Work Day” instead of that odious “Casual Friday” that affords your less-professional coworkers the opportunity to meet clients while clad in velour track pants with “Juicy” written across the ass.

Anyway, spread the word about this project.  If it’s a success, perhaps I’ll be able to post a photo gallery of you here on my blog.  Please be advised that tiaras and wrist corsages are optional, but photos including those particular accessories will be displayed more prominently in the gallery.

Written by Post Author

February 15, 2009 at 4:54 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] week’s illustration is inspired by Auntie Fashion’s May 29 2009 event, Wear A Gown to Work Day, as well as this iconic poster of soviet workers smiting the lazy.  I was wondering what to put […]

  2. Hear, hear!

    Nadia Lewis

    February 25, 2009 at 11:08 pm

  3. I’m so behind this. You have the full support from the girls at Worn Journal!

    serah-marie

    February 26, 2009 at 5:50 pm


Leave a Reply

