Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

Makeovers!

with 2 comments

Makeovers

Makeovers

It was makeover week on Canada’s Next Top Model!

As Tyra would say, Meaghan got the “long, wavy extensions down to here,” only without the waves.  She looks good, but the more I look at her photos, the more I believe that she is going to get the “actress pretty” elimination.  She’s gorgeous, but more telegenic than photogenic.

Nikita got the “Bettie Page,” but without the waves that made the pinup’s hairdo so distinct.  The bangs were just too short.  She reminded me of Jim Carrey in “Dumb and Dumber.”

Maryam didn’t need much work, so they gave her a “Mariacarla.”  She reminds me of Mariacarla, so it was a wise choice.  I love this girl!

Linsay got the best makeover, both in theory and in practice, when they gave her the “Linda Evangelista.”  The color is better for her, and the cut does wonders for her bone structure.  All of a sudden, she’s a contender.

I don’t know what they did to Tara.  She looks exactly the same as she did before.  She’s got a great body, but I don’t see a model when I look at her face.

The worst makeover was given to Heather.  Her “girl-next-door” look was given a “high-fashion ass-whoopin’,” or something like that.  Her eyebrows were bleached into oblivion, too.  Her hair doesn’t appear to hold a style for more than ten seconds or so, and the color process just made that fact more obvious.  Way to sabotage the frontrunner, Jay!

Jill got the “Lisa Hartman from ‘Knot’s Landing’.”  I know Tyra’s never used that reference before, but that was the first thing that came to my mind when I saw the mop they sewed to her head.

They tried to give Ebonie the “Halle Berry,” but her hair was in such bad shape that they decided not to torture her anymore.  Instead she got the “Soccer Mom.”  She’s got to be the next one to go.  Just look at the photo above.  Why, in the name of Zob, did they put her in that horrible swimsuit?

Rebeccah probably got the most dramatic transformation when they gave her the “Agyness Deyn.”  I can see this girl working a lot of looks, and her hair appears to take the abuse quite well.  Despite her ridiculously unwarranted appearance in the bottom two, she’s beginning to grow on me.

All in all, it was a fun episode, and I can’t wait to watch it again when it repeats ten times this week on various CTV affiliates.  I want to get a second look at Jeanne Beker.  I swear that she was peeling like Meryl Streep or Goldie Hawn in “Death Becomes Her.”  I adore Jeanne, but she was wearing more makeup than Jay Manuel, and that’s never a good thing.

Written by Post Author

June 3, 2009 at 4:45 pm

Posted in A Soupçon of Je Ne Sais Quois

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wasn’t Ebonie supposed to have the Halle Berry short haircut? But her hair was so fried they had to slap the weave back on (but cut it shorter).

    Sooey

    June 3, 2009 at 5:17 pm

  2. Oh yeah, my mistake. I’ve corrected it. Thanks!

    auntiefashion

    June 3, 2009 at 8:27 pm


Leave a comment