Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

Wear a Gown to Work Day is Twenty-Four Days Away

leave a comment »

Karen Elson

Well, the Met Gala is finally yesterday’s news, so it’s time that your old Auntie got to work promoting the most glamorous holiday in the history of the universe.

Wear a Gown to Work Day is on May 27, 2011.  While I still haven’t found a celebrity spokesperson worthy of the event, I still have to make sure that the word gets out.  At last night’s party at the Met, I asked my dear friend and Capricorn soul sister Sarah Mower to wear a sandwich board advertising the special day on the red carpet.  She chose to wear a one-of-a-kind Sarah Burton for Alexander McQueen dress, opting to hand out leaflets instead.

My favorite gown of the evening was the sexy number worn by Karen Elson — another fellow Capricorn.  I’m usually not a fan of dresses that spill onto the floor, but this one by McQueen is just right.  I guess it’s no surprise that I like the social commentary made by a dress that resembles iron pyrite, or what’s commonly known as “fool’s gold.”  Whether or not the designer intended to make that comment is moot.  All that matters is what I think of the dress.  This is my blog, after all.

On that note, the bitchy comments on The Cut and several other fashion blogs this morning don’t do anything to change my mind about the looks I saw on last night’s red carpet, but they do make me believe that the standard coffee-and-cigarettes diet of your average fashionista has been replaced with nothing but sour grapes.  I might be a fool, but at least I’m not a bitch.

And that brings me back to Wear a Gown to Work Day.  I got the idea for the holiday a few years ago while I was turning my nose up at a rack of hideous polyester prom dresses in my local Sears department store.  I stopped and said to myself “Now who are you to tell anyone that the way they choose to express themselves is somehow inferior to the way you express yourself?”  I’m not going to lose sleep over what anyone else is wearing, and I hope that no one is going to lay awake at night troubled by what I choose to wear.  I’d rather celebrate the foolishness of fashion than praise it’s worth because anything that has value in fashion today could be totally worthless tomorrow.  As the saying goes, all that glitters is not gold.

So enjoy Wear a Gown to Work Day by wearing something that makes you appreciate how little fashion really matters to any of us.  Your life isn’t going to be ruined if some anonymous fool on the Internet doesn’t like your dress.

Written by Post Author

May 3, 2011 at 5:27 pm

Leave a Reply

