Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

This Week in Capricorn News

leave a comment »

Marilyn Manson

Marilyn Manson

Welcome to the newest featured category on my blog.  Like many of the categories on the right-hand margin of this page, I’ll probably abandon this one, too, as soon as something shiny and new captures my attention.

Anyway, The Cut is reporting (via Scene) that Capricorn Marilyn Manson has been named the newest face of Saint Laurent Paris.

I haven’t been the biggest fan of designer Hedi Slimane, so I don’t know what to think about this.  On one hand, I’m thrilled that a Capricorn like Marilyn Manson has been chosen to represent a brand whose creative direction is in the hands of a Cancer native.  We all know that Cancer individuals are nothing without their zodiac complements — nothing!  Yet I’m little bewildered by Slimane’s choice of muses for the brand. Manson is succeeding Beck, another forty-something recording artist.  I don’t know a lot of forty-year-old men who can fit into the sort of clothes that Slimane designs; let’s just say that his silhouette is a little on the slim side.  Most fourteen-year-old boys would find his fits to be rather restrictive.

Nevertheless, I’m far more likely to actually stop and look at what they’re selling at Saint Laurent Paris now that a Capricorn is the face of the brand.  Just a couple of weeks ago I walked by the Saint Laurent boutique in The Crystals at City Center with my nose in the air.  After that ridiculous F/W 2013 Grunge redux on the Paris runways a couple of weeks ago, who could blame me?

Written by Post Author

March 30, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Leave a Reply

