Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

RIP Roger Ebert

leave a comment »

MSN now

MSN now

I was very sad to learn of the passing of Roger Ebert yesterday.  I have to say that one of the proudest moments of my entire career came when a book I wrote was sandwiched between a book by Roger Ebert and a book by the Pope in the publisher’s catalogue.  How was that for good company?

Anyway, Ebert was one of the wittiest writers I’ve ever read (as the quote above will attest).  As I sit here behind my keyboard, plunking away at the keys in the vain hope that I’m going to make someone laugh at my jokes while simultaneously impressing them with my knowledge of the fashion business, I’m reminded that brevity is the soul of wit.

I’d like to be the Roger Ebert of fashion one day.  Unfortunately, there aren’t a lot of people in the business who can laugh at themselves.  Oh well!  I read that Ebert entered the “New Yorker” cartoon caption contest for forty years until he won.  What an inspiration!  Maybe I’ll get the credit I deserve by the middle of the century . . .

Written by Post Author

April 5, 2013 at 1:32 pm

Leave a Reply

