Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

Stinking up the joint . . .

leave a comment »

Corpse Flower

Corpse Flower

Here’s a photo of the emerging flower bud of the Amorphophallus titanum, commonly known as the corpse flower.  This particular flower, nicknamed “Putrella,” is housed in the Muttart Conservatory, just a few minutes from the Fortress of Pulchritude where I make my home.  It should open in a couple of weeks, filling the hothouse with it’s horrific odor, described as “a stench like dead bodies or rotten meat.”

So why am I telling you this?  Because as I was reading the part of this article that mentioned that the plant was grown from a “125-kilogram tuber,” I was reminded that my friend Rusty’s birthday is less than a month away.  And speaking of things that stink . . .

Anyway, I hope to visit the conservatory when the flower opens, but I guess that the horrible smell only lasts a day.  I’m going to have hope that it blooms with my schedule in mind.  I don’t know when I’m going to get the chance to be around something so putrid ever again.  It’s not as if Marc Jacobs invites me to his fashion shows.  Ha!

Written by Post Author

April 13, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Leave a Reply

