Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

My Favorite Look from the Met Gala

leave a comment »

"PUNK: Chaos To Couture" Costume Institute Gala

Met Gala

Okay, time to explain myself . . .

I’ve been around the block a few times.  I’ve seen “punk” up close, and I’ve seen a lot of other trends that have relied upon the sentiment that drives trends like punk: juvenile rebellion.  I remember being a teenager and saying to myself “I’m not going to get into this event wearing what I want to wear, so what can I wear that will get me in the door?”  For that reason, I adore what Katy Perry wore to Monday’s Met Gala.

When I was a kid, my friends and I didn’t have the money to make a big arrival so we had to rely on creativity. We would hit up second-hand stores to find things that were so out-of-fashion that they were sure to elicit a jaw-dropping reaction.  We would alter them or wear them in a way that was completely unexpected in order to turn heads.  We would claim that we didn’t care what anyone thought, but getting a reaction from the onlookers was the point of everything we did.

I remember my friend Wanda taking her mother’s chiffon, early-sixties wedding dress, dying it fuchsia and wearing it with her hair spiked up with a fistful of gel.  I remember k.d. lang hanging out in local bars up here wearing a crinoline, a wife-beater and a pair of combat boots.  I remember my friend Grant making a jacket out of designer labels that he had ripped out of second-hand clothes from Goodwill, and another jacket crafted from one of those hideous carpets sold by the roadside that depicted the “Last Supper” in polyester chenille.  I also remember dozens of friends who wore various versions of the mohawk because they didn’t have to pay someone to create the style — all it took was a razor.

These looks didn’t get us turned away at the door, and they got us the attention that we craved.  Honestly, I see that spirit in Katy Perry and the outfit that she chose to wear to the Met Gala.  It’s not a gown, it doesn’t follow any current fashion trends, it’s quite tasteless in its iconography and it’s been paired with a crown.  A crown!  What’s more, there’s nothing about this look that has anything to do with the theme, and that is probably the most “punk” statement anyone could have made.

Forget the rest!  Katy Perry earned this crown.

Written by Post Author

May 8, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Leave a Reply

