Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

Do we really need Galliano when we have Thom Browne?

leave a comment »

Thom Browne

Thom Browne

With John Galliano recently embarking on his “Forgiveness Tour” (my words; not his), the reactions have been mixed.  Some people are eager to see him back in the business, while others would prefer to see him suffer for all of eternity.

I don’t really care either way.  I’d like to claim that I’m the forgiving type but I know as well as anyone that I can hold a grudge forever.  What I don’t want, however, is to see the issue debated ad nauseum when the world has more important matters to attend to — like watching the Thom Browne Resort 2014 slideshow on style.com (click the link above).

Now that I think about it, my reaction to the Galliano incident was mostly selfish: I was going to miss what he had to offer to the world of fashion.  In the meantime, Thom Browne has picked up the slack and then some. I am dazzled by the breadth of his vision and his remarkable sartorial talent.  He is everything I want to idolize in a fashion superstar.  I get goosebumps when I imagine what he is going to do next.

Zob willing, it will be a long time before this one gets knocked off his pedestal!

Written by Post Author

June 11, 2013 at 3:47 pm

Leave a Reply

