Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

Menswear Madness Sweeps London

leave a comment »

JW Anderson

J. W. Anderson

The London Menswear shows are in full swing so I ought to get around to reviewing them.  I actually look forward to the menswear shows because it gives me a break from the Resort shows.  Resort is an interesting season, but after a while all those dresses start to look the same.  At least we had Michael Kors this time doing what he does best: updating classic American sportswear to make it impossibly chic and of-the-moment.  I didn’t think anyone could make me want to return to the double-knit sensibilities of the seventies, but Kors changed my mind.  He understands this continent and its seasons like no one else.

But I digress!  It’s time to talk about the menswear, like the J. W. Anderson ensemble in the photo above. I’ll get around to reviewing the show soon enough, but for now let me explain something about the way I review fashion shows.  When I see an outfit on a model in a show, I question whether or not I would want to be seen in public with that person in that outfit.  If the answer is “no,” chances are that the review is not going to be a good one.

Well, I wouldn’t want to be seen in public with this guy.  It really has nothing to do with the outfit, but rather with what the outfit says.  To me, it broadcasts the wearer’s gender identity like a billboard.  I’m someone who wouldn’t bat a false eyelash if P’Trique showed up at my door selling cookies in a Girl Guide’s uniform — I’d buy the cookies.  But I am someone who has met the guy in this outfit so many times before that he has become the biggest bore in the universe, always blathering on about his mission to challenge gender identity roles as if he invented gender itself.

I’ve been through this too many times to believe that it’s clever, controversial or even remotely interesting. It’s boring.  In whatever package it comes in, it’s boring and I’m not buying it.  I’ll save my money for the cookies.

Written by Post Author

June 18, 2013 at 3:46 pm

Leave a Reply

