Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

Christian Dior Couture Fall 2013: A Few More Words

leave a comment »

Christian Dior

Christian Dior

I need to break free from my “Three Word Runway Review” format to discuss the Dior Couture show.  I liked it, but as the show went on I became increasingly aware that I wasn’t just watching a Raf Simons show. There were a lot of looks that I would have attributed to the other ateliers.  Take this dress, for example:

Dior

How many times has Armani Privé shown something almost identical to this gown?  And then there’s this one:

Dior

Shades of Lacroix, non?  And it’s not just the couturiers who are being referenced, it’s the ready-to-wear designers, like Stella McCartney:

Dior

As I recall, she was showing these shapes before anyone else was; for the past few years I’ve claimed that she is the most-directional fashion designer in the business.  But I digress!  There was also this homage to Galliano for Dior:

Dior

Don’t get me wrong: I’m actually starting to warm up to Raf Simons for Dior because this was a genuinely commercial couture venture and the clothes were beautiful.  However, Simons is often discussed as an intellectual who brings new ideas to the table.  To me, there wasn’t much here that was new.  The presentation was disjointed and lacking in direction.  I wish that the final look (featured in the large photo above) had been the first look and that every other look that followed had something to do with that look.  It was a perfect collision between the designer and the brand and it grabbed my attention like two cars that had crashed before my eyes.  The rest of the looks were just traffic on the runway.  Beautiful traffic, but traffic nonetheless.

Written by Post Author

July 2, 2013 at 4:11 pm

Leave a Reply

