Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

On to Paris . . .

leave a comment »

Anthony Vaccarello

Meghan Collison

Paris Fashion Week is finally here!  That means that soon there will be barely any fashion shows to watch for at least a week or two, until the next made-up season arrives (Post-Summer; Pre-Pre Fall; UnResort).

Anyway, I finally feel as if I’ve caught up.  I’ve only got a few Paris shows to watch because Milan didn’t pack the back-end of their schedule with a bunch of presentations that no one wanted to see.  Thank Zob for small miracles!

I still haven’t taken time to write wrap-ups from New York, London and Milan, and I’ll probably never get around to it.  For that reason, I’m going to take a moment to discuss my three favorite shows so far.  In New York it had to be Lacoste.  Designer Felipe Oliveira Baptista not only made sporty clothes that looked good on models, but he made sporty clothes that would look good on athletes.  Despite what a lot of people believe, those are two distinct body types, and what works on one doesn’t necessarily work on the other.  I loved the modernity of the show and I didn’t even roll my eyes once at all the sheer fabrics.  When it works, it works!

In London, I’m going to give the prize to Meadham Kirchhoff.  They would be delightful if they were making clothes out of duct tape and garbage bags, but they’re making clothes that wouldn’t appear out-of-place at the couture shows.  If the stars line up just the right way and these guys begin setting the trends, I have no doubt that they’re going to be the biggest thing in fashion.

Another guy on the cusp of a breakout season is Marco de Vincenzo.  His Milan show was as good as Anthony Vaccarello’s S/S 2012 show that put that designer on everyone’s radar.  His presentation was every bit as technically-proficient and luxurious as the best of Proenza Schouler, but with a dose of sex-appeal that will appeal to both the fashion crowd and those who just like to look at pretty things.  It’s funny how so many designers put so little value on that second part, right Miuccia?

Now on to Paris.  I just watched Anthony Vaccarello where my two fellow-Edmontonians Meghan Collison and Grace Mahary took to the catwalk.  It’s only a matter of time before this city surpasses Moose Jaw as the most-fashionable place in Canada . . .

Written by Post Author

September 25, 2013 at 3:51 pm

Leave a Reply

