Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

Louis Vuitton Just Became Desirable Again

leave a comment »

Nicolas Ghesquière

Nicolas Ghesquière

Fashion’s worst-kept secret is a secret no more!

I just read on vogue.com that Nicolas Ghesquière “has been named as the new artistic director of women’s collections at Louis Vuitton, succeeding Marc Jacobs.”  This is good news to me.  I’ve never been a fan of Jacobs at Vuitton because I believe that the designer created a hype-driven label with his cart-before-the-horse branding.  Until recently, the ready-to-wear was atrocious — some of the most hideous stuff I’ve ever seen.  Over the past couple of seasons, however, Jacobs has actually begun to form a brand identity with his runway shows and the garments have begun to resemble something one would expect to purchase from the world’s most prominent luxury label.

Still, Nicolas Ghesquière could turn that all on its head, and I hope he does!  A couple of decent shows from Jacobs hasn’t created any tangible brand heritage, so I’d like to see LV turn into something like John Galliano for Christian DiorKarl Lagerfeld for Chanel, or even the criminally-underrated Jean Paul Gaultier for Hermès.  It’s great when a designer and a brand merge inextricably.

Speaking of Gaultier and his brand, Ghesquière shares his Taurus zodiac sign with the designer.  Other Taurus designers/creative directors include Miuccia Prada, Donatella Versace, Christopher Bailey, Francisco Costa, Christian Lacroix and the late, great Roy Halston.  It fascinates me that that other than Bailey for Burberry, none of these designers really create a look that would be defined as “classically Taurean.”  Yet the number of Taurus individuals leading luxury labels seems rather disproportionate, right?

It’s something I need to look into — where’s my astrologer when I need him?  Anyway, at the moment I’m getting ready for Venus’ four-month ingress into Capricorn.  Taurus’ ruling planet enters my sign tomorrow for an exceptionally long stay and it’s supposed to make me even more incomprehensibly gorgeous than I was before.  As a wise philosopher once said, “Don’t hate me because I’m beautiful” . . .

Written by Post Author

November 4, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Leave a Reply

