Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

Forty Fads I’d Like to See Again

leave a comment »

 

While I’m mining the nineties for trends, I’ve got to mention this video for “Rocks” by Primal Scream. Although this song did nothing in North America, I can’t forget the first time I saw it and the huge smile it put on my face.  Lead-singer Bobby Gillespie looked like a strung-out version of Mick Jagger/Rod Stewart/Steven Tyler, but he did it with such insouciance that he made every other Grunge-era artist look as if they were trying harder than Kanye West.  This is the guy that Hedi Slimane should be referencing when he sends the models down the runway at Saint Laurent.  This is the guy who should be inspiring Rick Owens when he tries to make a counter-culture statement.  I grow tired of nearly everything, but I’ll never grow tired of this guy and I’ll never grow tired of this video.

Written by Post Author

November 27, 2013 at 5:34 pm

Leave a Reply

