Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

Forty Fads I’d Like To See Again

leave a comment »

Edna & Stella

Edna & Stella

If you asked me a couple of days ago, I would have said that the celebrity/designer collaboration died the moment I read that Kanye West had just signed a contract with Adidas.  But then I saw this photo of Dame Edna Everage and Stella McCartney.  Stella, as you may already know, is one of the reasons why Adidas has retained its place at the top as the most-fashionable athletic brand.  The others include Y-3 and Yohji Yamamoto, and an archive that just keeps on giving.

Nevertheless, I was ready to throw my classic Gazelles into the fireplace when I learned that the biggest ass in showbiz AND fashion was going to sully the brand.  Yet all it took to turn it around was this photo of Edna and Stella I saw on the Dame’s Facebook page.  While Adidas may have lost a few points with trendsetters like me when they gave Kanye a $10 million USD deal, Stella racked up the points with this photo op.  Now everything that she touches is going to have this stylishness-by-association that only Dame Edna’s approval can endow, whether or not Edna has anything to do with her upcoming collections.

Anyway, this makes me believe that there is hope for the celebrity/designer collaboration.  Maybe it’s a fad that’s not dead, after all . . .

Written by Post Author

December 6, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Leave a Reply

