Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

Forty Fads I’d Like To See Again

leave a comment »

Flicker

Flicker

Was bird watching ever in fashion?

At any rate, I wish that it would come into style.  I feel all alone in my love for my feathered friends.  Sure, I know a few other people who partake in the pastime, but they aren’t really fashion people.  In fact, they’re the sort of people who wear oil of bergamot, Birkenstocks and scratchy, South American wool sweaters they buy at flea markets.

I’d like to have some friends who appreciate the fabulous plumage of the Yellow Shafted Northern Flicker, for example.  Just look at that bird mixing patterns in such an innovative manner, never mind that shocking pop of color on the nape of its neck.  There’s a big, dead tree near my house where a family of these birds return every year to breed.  I get so excited when I see them in spring!  I also get excited every time I go to Las Vegas in March during Grackle breeding season where these noisy, flashy birds seem to be perfectly at home amongst the noisy, flashy tourists.  But trying to get someone to appreciate a rare bird sighting usually means trying to convince them to look at something else besides their f***ing phones, and that’s just the way the world works today.

Oh well!  Maybe I should just try to keep this one all to myself.

Written by Post Author

December 16, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Leave a Reply

