Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

Forty Fads I’d Like To See Again

leave a comment »

Murder by Death

Murder by Death

I’ve always been into classic murder mysteries, especially when they’re dressed-up for cocktails and star actors like Maggie Smith and David Niven.  Last night I watched a great parody of the genre: Neil Simon’sMurder by Death.”  The best part of the movie is when Truman Capote delivers a speech about how ridiculously complex murder mysteries have become, with plot twists that no one attempting to solve the case could ever anticipate.

That speech still rings true even though the film is close to forty years old.  Lazy writers don’t want the audience to play along, but rather want to prove how much more clever they are than the audience. Unfortunately, you don’t beat anyone but yourself when you’re playing solitaire.  It’s a terrible way to write and a terrible way to alienate your audience.

I mentioned in an earlier post that I would be thrilled if movies like this came back into style, but I’d probably be even happier if any of these “whodunnits” gave me a chance to solve the crime myself.  Or maybe I should just give up on blogging altogether and become a private eye.  Hmmm . . .

Written by Post Author

December 28, 2013 at 4:23 pm

Leave a Reply

