Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

Jonathan Saunders to Honour Auntie Fashion in Runway Extravaganza

leave a comment »

Jonathan Saunders

Jonathan Saunders

Okay, that headline is a total lie.  But I did spell “honour” with a “u” like they do in London in order to celebrate the London menswear shows that begin on Monday.

You know what else happens on Monday, right?  It’s my birthday!  And just by chance, Jonathan Saunders is showing his collection on that day.  While the odds of the designer actually producing a menswear collection based upon me are probably less than fifty/fifty, I can’t discount my influence on the British fashion scene. The media may tout the Duchess of Cambridge as the most stylish woman in the UK, but she’s really just my astrological doppelganger: a mini me.  If I hadn’t paved the way for Capricorn women with their moons in Cancer to become international style icons, I suppose poor Kate would be working the housewares counter at Marks & Spencer.

But I digress.  The point of this blog post is to bring attention to my upcoming Three Word Runway Reviews of the 2014 F/W Menswear shows.  I’m looking forward to the runway shows because I find that the menswear market is invigoratingly competitive.  Men don’t buy as much and the trends don’t evolve as quickly, so designers really have to work hard to carve out a niche that is both commercial and creative.  You can’t just send something “avant garde” down the catwalk and be heralded as a genius as you watch the licensing agreements roll in; you really need to compete on a commercial level where the clothing sells every season.  Seeing your stuff show up on the racks at Marshalls is like the kiss of death.

That never happens with Jonathan Saunders’ stuff here in Canada because it’s quite difficult to find it in this part of the world.  So as I wrap this up, let me state that if anyone I know is backstage at the designer’s show on Monday, please remember that it’s my birthday and feel free to stuff a few samples into a FedEx box and send them my way.  It doesn’t matter that it’s menswear.  I’m versatile that way . . .

Written by Post Author

January 4, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Leave a Reply

