Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

Time for a Shift

leave a comment »

Prabal Gurung

Prabal Gurung

Okay, I’ll admit it: I hate Prabal Gurung.  I know a show is bad when I can’t even make it through a slideshow on vogue.com.  Sure, the guy has a lot of fans, but those fans seem to be the ridiculous women who stand outside of fashion shows waiting for their photos to be taken.  I don’t know anyone in my real life who wants to look like that.

Yet I do know plenty of women who want to look like this:

Rag & Bone

Here’s a photo from a couple of posts back that I used to illustrate the wonderful Rag & Bone show.  It looked like nothing I’ve seen in New York so far, but that wasn’t the best thing about it.  Not only was it a consistent expression of the designer’s aesthetic, it was so cool it sent me to their website because I said to myself “Why am I not wearing this brand every day?”

What’s most intriguing about this look, though, isn’t how much it appeals to someone like me: it’s how appealing it will be to a generation of women who don’t want to look anything like the generation that came before them.  That’s how fashion works, and the generational shift that separates one part of the decade from the next is usually happening right about now.  The counterpoint to this overwrought “editor’s look” made popular by the advent of street-style blogs and the explosion of social media is going to have to give way soon, and if I’m right it’s going to give way to something far more casual and far more cool than what I just witnessed on the Prabal Gurung runway.

I don’t mean to single out the designer as the worst-of-the-worst because I don’t believe that he is a bad designer.  However, I do believe that he’s out of touch.  A generation of girls who have watched their elders gush over blinged-out handbags, crusty cocktail dresses and red carpet ridiculousness are not going to want to walk in their shoes.  But I bet that they’re going to love those red booties that walked the Rag & Bone catwalk . . .

Written by Post Author

February 9, 2014 at 4:36 pm

Leave a Reply

