Auntie Fashion

I’m the fashion world’s most-enduring muse.

Haider Ackermann F/W 2014

leave a comment »

Haider Ackermann

Haider Ackermann

Okay, I’m going to break free from my Three Word Runway Review format once again to discuss what I don’t like about Haider Ackermann.

First, however, I would like to mention that I do admire the designer very much.  Each season he does something new to present his very distinct style in a new light.  I was worried that he might be a one-trick pony when he had his breakthrough season a few years back.  I didn’t need to be worried; he continues to impress me.

Yet he has a tendency to make his models look masculine by cutting his clothes to diminish the curve of their hips — and these are women who barely possess hips in the first place.  The photo I posted above is probably the “curviest” look in the designer’s latest collection.

I adore gender-bending in fashion, but I don’t like this.  Just look back at a few of his fashion shows and you’ll discover that this isn’t all in my head.  The guy has a bit of problem accepting that women are shaped like women.  They don’t need to wear a belt high on their waist to prove that they have hips because they already do have hips.

Written by Post Author

March 3, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Leave a Reply

